Discomfort with DexCom?

I’m about 5 days in on my first dexcom. Since the first or second day, i’ve had some intestinal discomfort below the site - closer to my lower abdomen/upper groin. Forgive me - its a bit like gas or other stomach ailments. It’s only on the left side where the sensor is.

I don't know if this is just some dietary thing, or a stomach bug that has exactly coincided with my sensor usage. It's a bit painful, like stomach problems can be.

Has anyone experienced anything like this in relation to their dexcom? I'm a bit overweight (~40lbs) and have plenty of padding, so i don't feel like i would have "hit" anything.

I sincerely hope this is a coincidence or some fluke one time thing. Even though i've only had it for about 5 days, the thought of not being able to use my dexcom would be a bummer!

Thanks!

--david

i haven’t experienced anything like what you are describing. i have been using th eDEX for a few months and once had a painful insert that i removed and it bled for a while, but that is as bad as it has been. why dont you remove it and try one in a different spot?

I would suggest calling a doctor if you’ve had pain for several days. I haven’t had that problem and the only pain I had for days in past was on right side (not left) due to appendix (I ended up having an emergency surgery). I’m not a doctor (and I don’t believe it is appendix) but it’s worth having a doctor check out what your pain is. The only problem I’ve had is itching on day 13, 14, etc.! (LOL! I try to make my sensors last longer).

Good luck!

Clancy, I’d rip out that Sensor right away-- because it’s your very first one. Although it’s likely to be stomach -related, and just a coincidence, you should do this (IMO) to be absolutely sure that it’s not Dexcom related.

The three candidates for a Dex-related problem are: