Don't understand the highs and lows sometimes

I am relatively new to this. Found out at Christmas, cut practically all carbs, got my readings down to an average of 86 and lost 50lb. I thought I was doing well. Then I got a craving for chocolate. Three pieces and my reading was 153. I freaked, and was good for the next few days. Then I went on a total awful binge. It would be easier to list what I didn’t eat. My reading the next morning? 94. I took it twice, as I was sure it would be through the roof - my readings tend to be the highest in the morning anyway, so shouldn’t it be really bad the morning after? I ate one packet of iced sugar cookies for a start and sundry other chocolate bars and slices of cake.

I am doing this on diet and exercise, and I didn’t exercise the day I binged either, so I didn’t exercise it off.

I did check my meter, and it is calibrated and has batteries, and I always wash my hands.

If you are a new Type 2, you probably still have a pretty good second phase insulin response. This means that your blood sugar goes high after eating carbs and then gradually comes down due to the insulin release. Do you test one hour or two hours after you eat? My guess is that you had a very high reading but that you still have enough insulin to bring it down over night. The danger in this is that very high blood sugar can over-stimulate your pancreas and eventually destroy your beta cells. Plus the extra insulin causes insulin resistance and weight gain. So you do need to be careful not to rely on average readings but pay attention to how high you are going after eating. Check out this website to get a handle on how to figure out the best diet for you.