Food Challenge Style Dishes

This catergory is inspired by my recent trip to Las Vegas, where I participated in 2 food challenges (think Man vs. Food style; I’m no professional eater). I won the first one and became a certified weenie at the other one. Each recipe in this catergory shall be a low-carb version of a food challenge anyone has seen or participated in. There are no real rules for finishing these dishes because each one is different. And you can also use these recipes for a potluck gathering or large get-together or shrink them down smaller if you insist (but that’s not as challenging, is it?). The main thing is to have fun (and if you feel like you’re going to throw up, that means you’re probably done trying the challenge and you should save or share any leftovers).

Sorry, don’t know Man vs. Food. The idea is to eat as much as you can as fast as you can?

This challenge is inspired by the 6 pound, 24-inch B3 burrito that I couldn’t finish (I was declared a certified weenie and got a pink weenie shirt since I could only eat about half of it). I attempted this challenge at the Sahara Hotel’s Nascar Cafe in Las Vegas soon before they were scheduled to shut down. Here’s what their burrito looked like:

B3 Burrito

6 large faux burritos (recipe follows)

1/2 pound precooked refried soybeans (my recipe for that is in the Mexican food section)

1/2 pound freshly grated cauliflower, steamed (aka faux rice)

1/2 pound fresh jalapenos, sliced (try to put some red ones in if you can find them)

about 3-4 pounds ground or shredded precooked meat of any sort

3-4 packets taco seasoning for meat, or other suitable seasoning

1 can enchilada sauce

1 recipe nacho cheese sauce (see mexican section, under my nacho recipe)

sour cream

1 can olives, sliced

fresh diced tomatoes and sliced green onions for the top

guacomole
some grated cheese for garnish