For looping what do I need and to do?

I have been interested in trying to set up a loop system. I am on on the older version of Omnipod (not dash). Which I think is what you need. And a Dexcom G6. I have an iphone 8 and a HP PC.

I am not tech savvy.

I know I need a riley link.

Xdrip supposedly has an ap for iphone, but in reading about it, it looks like it isn’t compatible for a G6??? Spike isn’t working these days because of the download unless you jailbreak your phone or something??? Someone mentioned the G6 works on xdrip but you have to have access to an apple computer to set it up only? I don’t.

So I’m really not sure of much of anything right lol…so I figured I’d ask!

No need to be tech savvy.
Start with https://loopkit.github.io/loopdocs/faqs/omnipod-faqs/

3 Likes

I am not sure if they have updated the code yet, but when I did it (less than a year ago), I needed a mac to build the app. And I had to get an Apple developer license to be able to put the app on my phone and have it run for more than 7 days. (Without an Apple developer license, it only runs for 7 days on the phone. With a developer license it will run for a year I think, and then you need to reinstall it.)

So you need:

• a Mac
  • an Apple developer license (costs about $100)
  • a Riley link
  • Xcode and some other software for the Mac (all free)
  • the Loop code, which is also free and easy to download
  • the old style pods (which you already have)

The only things that cost money are the Mac, Riley link, and dev license. Plus an iPhone and pods, but you already have that.

There are a lot of people here who know how to do this, I am tagging @Trying just because I know her well, and she knows Loop very well. :grinning:

3 Likes

I built my Loop app on a MacBook. However, I see many reports on Facebook from people that built their Loop app on a windows pc using a virtual machine to run Apple software.

2 Likes

@BradP used a VM