H1N1 and diabetes

I am fairly new to diabetes. I have not had to follow sick day guidelines and I am serioulsy scared to go back to work. I teach second grade and I hear from people who have already gone back to school that the number of cases of H1N1 is increasing since everyone is in close questers. I have heard that some pople who have died from H1N1 had diabetes or some other underlying disease/condition. What is the general opinion of this group? Does everyone have a plan of action if they get sick with this particular flu? What can I expect if I get sick?

I agree with Dave. I have worked in public elementary schools all of my life. I am type 1 for 41 years, and I will get the shot when it becomes available to me., at my doctor’s office. I have never been fearful of getting the other flus or anything else from the kiddies , just because I am diabetic. I just get the flu shot each year, as our school district offers it to all employees free., Not sure if they will have the free one for H1N1. I had the flu one time, early in my career, when I had not built up any immunities to the kiddie born illnesses. I got a stomach flu from one of the kids at school last year, from which I recovered, just took off one day.
I generally am pretty healthy now.

Wash your hands frequently and Get the shots… And don’t worry
God Bless,
Brunetta

And stay home , when any sign of flu like symptoms appear to you ; don’t spread " it " .

Thanks Dave! I think all the press is worrying me. I am going to get the shots as soon as it comes out!

It is nice to hear that from another teacher. My friend works as a school nures in Alabama and she said there are already 50 kids out after 2 weeks of school. I guess I will just pray for the best until the vaccine comes out.
Thanks for your support!

I am all about staying out for the 7 days they are telling people to stay out for. Thanks!