High blood sugar

Hello..I am looking for advice. I am a type 1 for 32 years (diagnosed in 1980 at 18 months old)...Just the last few days I have been dealing with bs levels in the upper 300 and 400's. I went into the ER with symptoms of DKA. The hospital got me down into the 100's after 8 hours on an insulin drip. I have been home for the last 3 days and unable to get my bs under 400 by myself (on omnipod). I have never in 32 years experienced this, I have always been able to bolus until it comes down but nothing seems to be working for me. Its now been 5 days of 300 and 400's. Anyone ever experience this??

I was in the ER for 7 hours and then admitted into the hospital for 12 hours, they did a bunch of blood work but never came in and said anything was wrong. They think my pump malfunctioned sometime during the day. But I've been home for 5 days now and I can't get it to come down, I've tried everything from re-placing the pump to using a syringe every 2 hours, walking, drinking lots of water..I don't know what else to do and I can't afford to go back to the hospital.

Kristy, I'm so sorry, you must be miserable. Do you have a doc you could call..primary care or endo? Or a CDE? That would be cheaper than the hospital although I realize it still costs money.

Oh, that sounds horrible!! I'm assuming you've replaced your insulin (or gotten a whole fresh supply). Were they able to bring it down with IV insulin at the hospital? It's incredibly rare now, but you can get a bad batch of insulin.

Something similar did happen to me once, years ago. While no obvious source of an infection was found, I did a course of antibiotics and that seemed to do the trick. It seemed my body was fighting something, but what, we were never sure.