High Blood Sugars with Insulin Pump

It seems like everyone around me is sick lately, friends, family, coworkers... and at work (I am a paramedic) we take in one patient after another with either Norwalk Virus (stomach flu), so Upper Resp Infections like colds, flu, you name it!

Saturday is dessert night for me, I allow myself to eat one dessert of my choice one day a week to prevent myself from eating sweets all the time. I'm type one insulin dependent and a pumper. I am VERY insulin senstivie. Total daily dose at this time is less than 15 u.

When I woke up yesterday my b/g was 201. I corrected with breakfast and figured it was just from dessert the night before and I'd need to bolus more next time I ate that. Trial and Error. But then before lunch it was 289! And That was at 3p! So Of COurse I corrected again and ate very lo carb and watched it come down (via finger sticks) to 172 which is still high for me particularly at this time of day. I ate a low carb dinner and bolused again. Got up at 3a to check my b/g it was 208! I corrected and went back to sleep. STILL 201 this morning. Then I corrected again and it came down to 156 after 1.5 hours. BUT once I got to the 2 hour mark it was 167 so it's on its way back up.

Could it be that I am getting sick? Are my basals changing? I thought my pump set might be bad, but then why would the insulin work for a while and then not again? Your help is greatly appreciated.