Highs/ early insulin resistance

Hi!

I’m back with my second pregnancy. I’ll be 7 weeks on Thursday.

This pregnancy is 1000000% different than my first. With my son, I was low from the very beginning and stayed low for most of the first trimester. This time I can’t seem to keep my blood sugar below 200. My last a1c was 6.2 so I generally have been in tight control. Just thinking of food sends me soaring. I’ve been temp basaling to 150% most of the day and correcting on top of that.

I went from using 35-45 units daily to 75-85 units now. This feels like insanity! I’m also changing my sites every other day, walking or getting on the elliptical after every meal (and sometimes before!).

Anyone know why this is happening so soon? I’m terrified to see how much insulin I’ll need in the 2nd and 3rd trimesters at this rate.

Being a male, I have zero experience with pregnancy. I hope I don’t offend by offering some more general suggestions.

First of all, let me congratulate you on you pregnancy and your obvious attention to your blood glucose levels. If you haven’t already done it, I recommend that you start logging all your BGs and inulin doses with dates and times. Exercise and anything else you think affects your glucose would also help with logging in a diary.

I think you will likely find some patterns that will help guide your future insulin doses and timing. A log will help elevate you to a position above the moment to moment BG struggle. It will also help when you consult with your doctor and/or CDE.

Do not be afraid to give your body the insulin it needs. If it needs 2x or 3x your non-pregnant doses then that’s what you need to do, Do you use a CGM? If not, I think it would help you and add to your safety. If you do use a CGM, I would always confirm any glucose level that requires added insulin or glucose.

I think changing your sites every two days is great practice. I also think exercising is a great thing for you.