How often are Dexcom G6 users getting signal loss per day with iPhone?

I have been using my Dexcom G6 for ~8 months. For the last 2 months, I’ve been getting TONS of signal loss every day, overnight, all day. I rarely get any CGM alarms because so often my CGM isn’t receiving data. I am able to get the data successfully by turning off and on Bluetooth on my iPhone X, but by that time finding out my blood sugar is high/low/trending isn’t helpful.

Wanted to ask others how many times a day they have signal loss? I’m guessing I turn off/on my Bluetooth about 20 times a day just to receive my glucose data.

2 Likes

Once a month with the G6, and at least a few times a day with the G5. I constantly lose signal between the G6 and the X2.

1 Like

Almost never, unless I leave it in another room and it’s more than 20 feet away. Otherwise maybe once a month? And the few times it has happened it has picked it up on it’s own within 15 minutes?

But I have an iphone 8s (updated always) and just the Dexcom and the Clarity aps. I have had it for 6 months. I also carry the reader in my pocket so it has never caused an issue anyway.

1 Like

Nothing like that often—maybe 3-4 x a week? Thing is, BT itself isn’t the must ironclad reliable thing in the known universe. Dx tech FAQ only talks about things like concrete and steel barriers causing problems between your sensor and receiver, but the radio airwaves are getting more crowded all the time and there can be other devices—including plain old WiFi networks—that are operating on the same frequency as Bt and can interfere with it. I believe the signal strength of the G6 is actually improved over the G5 (I had lots more dropouts with the G5 than I do now), but even so it’s bound to be relatively weak compared with, say, your household WiFi network, simply b/c you can only pack so much power into such a miniaturized device whose battery is certified to last for 3 months.