How reliable on the OmniPod?

I am a diabetic consultant and I will appreciate you share with me your experiences on the Omnipod such as quality, reliability and user friendness ? thanks
bruce

Hi Bruce,

I find the Omnipod pretty reliable. I have had problems with around 5 pods but Insulet replaced these no questions asked, you just have to read them the lot and pod # and return it in the same box the replacement came in. If there are no issues with the pod (usually on insertion) my experience is that they work as well and sometimes better than my Metronic pump. I love it because I can place it almost anywhere (my current location is on my upper left arm) and NO TUBBING!!

It is also very fast and easy to install.

Steve

steve:
thanks for the feedback. would you kindly elaborate your complain on the insertion for your ominiPod ?
is it has something to do with the design, user friendness, or the quality/reliability issue ?

thanks

bruce

With any pump or infusion set there can be problems such as location, scar tissue and issurtion pulling out.

I find with the Omniod that most of the time it had to do with the automatic insurtion of the canula. I am not sure what goes wrong but it may be that the Omnipod misfired or there was a gap between where the needle fired and the skin. Once I hit the pod and dislodged it, another time it was an adhesive problem which I resolved by using a skin prep. Once also I had a communication error between the Pod and PDM and had to replace the pod after 2 days. In all cases they sent a replacement no questions asked.

Overall the comfort and convience outweighs the other issues and I havn’t gone back to my Metronic pump