Hunting

I’m new to the pod and I also started the Dexcom at the same time few weeks ago. It is spring turkey season here in NE Florida and opening day was last weekend. I have learned from past experience to place my cell phone on silence and not vibrate. It’s amazing how much noise “vibrate” can make when your in the woods mixed with other loose items. So I put the Dex in my breast pocket in case it started to buzz, but leave the PDM in the truck. I hike a couple of hundred yards to a spot and set up under a nice oak tree just as the sun is starting peek through the trees. A little bit later the calm of the morning is broke by “Beep Beep Beep, Beep Beep Beep”!!! I have been scouting this area for weeks just for this one morning and my belly is beeping every 15 minutes and no way of squelching it. I slipped back to the truck and checked the PDM, “Beep Beep Beep” Pod expired. I knew it was going to expire that morning and had a new one in my pack to replace it I just had not planned on the alarm.

Lesson learned and I’m glad I was not 35 feet up a pine tree 30 minutes from the truck in a climber during deer season to learn this lesson. The pod expiration is one more thing to add to my check list and the PDM is one more thing to add to my pack.

Any one else have any tips so I don’t ruin a day in the woods?

Just so you know, you have several hours (up to 8) before the pod actually quits so you should be able to avoid the change in a tree somewhere. As long as you have enough insulin you can “OK” the change pod alarm and it shouldn’t alarm again and then wait to change it. And just so you know, there’s also an “out of insulin” alarm, although I’ve never heard that one!