Itching on sensor site

Hi,
I have been using Dexcom for 3 years and I never had a problem with itching on the sensor site until this year. Has anyone had the same experience? I read here that others start itching after 7 - 14 days of the same sensor.
My itching has become so bad that it starts itching within the first 24 hours. It gets so bad it has become unbearable. When I remove the sensor I have bright red oozing not only where the adhesive was, but in the surrounding area. It takes weeks to heal.
I only use the sensor on the stomach because Dexcom told me they are only approved to tell us to use it there.
Does anyone know if the itching will vary if it is inserted in a different area?
Does anyone have ideas on how to stop the itching?
I thought maybe Dexcom had changed the adhesive to make it produce itching after a week, since that is the amount of time we are supposed to wear it, so that we would not wear them longer. They said no.
I feel totally dependent on CGM now, whenever I don’t have one implanted, I have no idea where my sugars are, my sugars seem to have no logical course, so I am all over the place.
I do worry because I live in the rainforest of Costa Rica where it is hot and humid year round and it is easy to get infections. Has anyone had to get treatment for an infection from Dexcom’s sensor adhesive?
Sorry this is so long, I am thrilled to have found this group, I have been a loner with my diabetes for 16 years in Costa Rica. Before moving here I lived in the states and there was lots of support.
Thanks very much!
Jennifer

Jennifer,

I itch more in hot and humid for sure. Try wiping area with alcohol pad before insertion. Then I cut out tegaderm to put over the tape/not the transmitter. If I start to itch, I put arnica around the site, witch hazel or tea tree oil. Atrange that it just started after 3 years.

On another note…when hot and humid, I find my insulin tends to fry. Not working as well.