It's not the end of the world

Hello!
This is my first attempt at publishing a blog post. It’s a bit long, but hopefully not too bad!

When I was diagnosed 5 months ago, I think I learned more from the online community then I did from my doctors, which is why I wanted to try and write my experiences too. People who would write down what it was like, and prove that you can really live like this. Diabetes isn’t the end of the world. It feels like it though, doesn’t it? When you first find out, when the doctors stick you in the ICU and you’re so full of needles and wires that you can’t roll over let alone sleep, it feels like it’s the end. But it’s not. Eventually the nurses stop coming in every hour to test your blood sugar. Eventually the doctor will let you eat again. Eventually you’ll even go home. And eventually it will stop feeling like you’re one meal away from dying.