Just Got A PUMP!

I’m new to the pump - haven’t done my training in it yet (just opened the box)… but I would like to know any hints and help anyone could give me. I just got the Minimed Paradigm 522 pump with the CGM system. I would appreciate any help anyone could give a newbie!

If you haven’t registered and taken Medtronic’s Pump School, I recommend it. It will give the the leg up in asking proactive questions with your trainer. You can train specifically on the Paradigm 522 as well as the CGM functionality separately.

Tracy, I have a Paradigm 522, but not the CGM. I’ve had this model for about 2 years now and love it. This is actually my fourth pump in 11 years. I know for a fact, I would not be this healthy today without pump therapy. As far as the 522, the square wave bolus is pretty nifty. Just embrace your new found freedom being a pumper. It really is a new way of life and you won’t believe how much freedom you’ll have. 11 years ago when I began pumping, I remember crying to my husband, with happy tears, that this was the first time I actually felt normal since before I was diagnosed. Now, I have two beautiful kids…I really don’t think I would have been able to carry them without the pump. They know how to put my pump in suspend if I go “low”. It has just become a part of me. I’m proud of my success, can you tell? Good luck with your adventure. You’ve found a good group of people if you have any questions or need any support throughout your process. We’ve been through all of the ups and downs and are here to help you get through it. Pump on girl!!!

Hi Tracy and congrats,

Once you get the feel for the pump, you will be so happy with the freedom it gives you as to when you eat (versus taking a shot and eating right after, or eating and taking a shot right after, whichever one you used previously).