Low Carb Ice Cream Ideas

With summer coming, I know I am going to want Ice Cream. I have looked at the no sugar ice creams that are available at the stores and I am not impressed. They are way too expensive, too many carbs, and I personally don’t like that much sugar alcohol in one serving (too much gas!!!) I use a blend of sweetners with a smaller amount of sugar alcohol. I have a nice Kitchen Aid Ice Cream maker, so I plan on doing some experimenting. Any Ideas. Most of the Real ingredients in Ice Cream are low carb. I think there are a lot of options if we put our head together!

I’m just starting down the road of lower carb ice cream. I’ve been making gellato for a few months now, it’s my daughters favorite bedtime snack. Have you used coconut milk at all? I’m wondering how it would do…

Garlic Ice Cream is served at the Gilroy Garlic Festival every year. I submitted this low-carb version for those of you who would like to try it but can’t come to the festival. You may also use sweet yellow onions for this if you’re not a garlic fan. Recipe was modified from cdkitchen.com.

Roasted Garlic Ice Cream Recipe
Submitted by: sugar5
Serves/Makes: 8
INGREDIENTS:
5 heads garlic (heads, not cloves)
2 tablespoons butter
1 liter half-and-half cream
equivalent of 1/2 cup sugar
4 egg yolks
PREPARATION:
Roast the heads of garlic: peel off the outer skin but leave cloves intact and attached. Arrange on a double thickness of foil, put about 1/2 tbsp. of butter on top of each, wrap up tightly and bake in a 350-degree oven for an hour.

Cut the tips off the cloves, still attached in the head shape, and squeeze out the roasted garlic puree.

Mix the cream and sugar substitute in a saucepan, heat to the boiling point and pour it over the egg yolks while whisking briskly. Put about a cup of the cream into a blender with the garlic puree and blend for about fifteen seconds to make sure there are no lumps of garlic.