New Job, New Insurance!

Soooo many things are changing in my life right now. I was accepted to nursing school and start this fall. I'm finishing up my prerequisites this summer and I'll be all set to start.

Things at my current job have not been the best, I am a paramedic for a private company that was bought out and they have been changing things left and right making things worse for all employees. THis has substantially impacted my diabetes. The new expectation was for me to work 4-15 hour shifts, sitting in an ambulance the ENTIRE time. Can you imagine sitting in an ambulance in 80 degree weather for 15 hour a day 4 days in a row! Ugh!

So, long story short, I am starting a new job next week. It's a third shift part time spot at a local hospital and drum roll please... Its a step up in pay and more importantly to me INSURANCE!!! I realize I will have my own battles as far as getting coverage from my new insurance company but I am curious if anyone out there has had BCBS PPO- Michigan.

I have been working for over a year to get a CGM and my current insurance Health Plus Michigan will NOT cover it at ALL. So I am curious, any tips from people about switching insurances?

Will I be able to use my current pump or will I have to get a new one? I know for a while certain insurances would only allow certain insulin pumps, is that still the case?

Anyways, I'm looking forward to my new insurance but wondering what the best way to navigate it is and what other peoples experiences with this sort of situation is. And the CGM... lol. I REALLY want a CGM.

Congrats on your new job and insurance! Perhaps you may access insurance coverage info online at the BCBS-Michigan website. I have BCBS-Illinois insurance and it covers CGMs but I realize that insurance coverages differs according to the package that your employer purchases. I hope you can get the CGM, it's been a great help to me.