New to Humalog

When I was diagnosed in May of this year, my a1c was 8.6. Today, it was 5.4. To say that I’m proud is an understatement!

For these past 7 months, I’ve managed with Metformin, Glipizide, and a low carb diet. Because pregnancy hormones cause rapid changes in bg for many people, my numbers have been steadily rising (though I have kept the same tight control over my diet). My endo suggested adding in Humalog at a 1:10 dosage. I’m super new to this - perhaps this is backwards, but I am actually so very excited that I have access to this tool. Especially with morning sickness - the fact that my food options will open up is just very exciting and a huge relief to me.

So - any tips for a total newbie? Would you keep going with a mostly low carb diet? I don’t usually go low bg-wise, but because I am new, I’m worried about over-dosing. Any favorite apps to calculate carbs, or do you ever wing it? My endo suggested that generally winging it would be ok, but that makes me nervous!

Calorie King is a great tool. It presents nutritional info in a standardized food label format. You can use it on your computer and they have an app for smart phones, too.

While the addition of mealtime insulin will make your control a bit easier, I would encourage you to not overdo it with the carbs. With me, once I’m eating too many, my control disappears. I would also encourage you to log your meals, insulin doses, and blood glucose numbers. It will keep you well-informed about how your body metabolizes food.

I congratulate you on your stellar success in bringing down your A1c! You’ve done you and your baby a big favor.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice @Terry4! I downloaded Calorie King on my phone and will plan to use that.

My endo mentioned 60 carbs per meal - which is WAY more than I’ve been eating. I plan to start off slow and see how it goes.