"No Readings" sensor alert and CGM connected pump

I was wondering about pumps that integrate with CGMs to deliver correction bolus insulin. I don’t have a pump but as a retired electronic technician I am curious how things work.

I’ve had several of these “No Readings” alert with the message that it might take up to 3 hours to restore. It usually happens around day 7 or 8 of sensor life (Dexcom G6). The first indication is a sudden fall of BG. Yesterday 5/15 (day 8) I was sitting at the table when BG dropped 18mg/dl in 10 minutes to No Reading alert. With the same sensor early this morning I got 2. The first was a 33mg/dl drop in 6 minutes. the second was 33mg/dl in 10 minutes. I am close to the receiver and phone and don’t sleep on my belly.

Anyway how comfortable are people with pumps that use CGM data? In my first 90 days of using the Dexcom G6 system I have leaned to take odd readings with a grain of salt and a finger stick or two. I over treated a faux low early on that I ended up out on my road in the middle of the night walking off a self induced hyper.

My starter kit contained 9 sensors all of the same lot number. I was suspecting them, but Dexcom sent me 3 of various lot numbers. Two were perfect for 10 days while the third is the one I am currently using.

I can’t stand it that I cannot figure out the problem. It is what I spent my whole life doing, diagnosing and correcting. I just don’t think I would be comfortable with the Dex G6 system controlling my insulin.

Your G6 seems to be working like mine. Can’t answer your question about Loop with unreliable CGM sensors as I have not tried that.