Okay D-OC - What Kinds of Recipes Do You Want to See

Recently, someone told me that the best way to help out the D-OC would be to write a cookbook that diabetics would ACTUALLY follow. I am going to throw the question your way people!

What kind of recipes would you like to see?

I am a chef with over 20 years of experience, and I REALLY want to help you all.

Is it:

Low Carb
No Carb
No Sugar
Natural
Whole Foods
Easy Fixings

You tell me!

Jason Sandeman

ok, Jason,

I want easy fixings whole foods natural, no sugar and low carb with taste & visual appeal.

I am particularly interested in supplying the elderly retirement communities’ chefs with appropriate food choices for their large number of Type 2 and much smaller number of Type 1 residents.

In my visits to these places, I do NOT see foods I would eat. Chefs are still adding sugar, corn syrup, etc. And I am speaking from the standpoint of a person who loves food and is an extremely well controlled T1.

I want lunch menus that allow me to consume no more than 15 grams carb. Dinner menus, 18 carb grams total.
I had a chef of one of these retirement communities over to the house for a meal and I explained, as I ate, that I needed 3 and 4 gram carb foods. That I cannot eat pasta & oatmeal.

And If we really want to see communities where diabetics can move without fear of the food, we need chefs who can give us daily, look-good options.

Now go to it and develop those kinds of entrees that can be used by chefs in those places and by diabetics at home!

And I am an eternal optimist.

@Leo2 - I used to be a Chef in a retirement home, so I know exactly what you mean. That is, if they actually EVEN prepare the meal, instead of retherming something pre-made.
Now, are you speaking of 15 grams of NET carbs? Or 15 grams GROSS? The latter is a little harder to accommodate, but it is doable. I am working on an alternative to the famous Philly Cheesesteak that should blow some socks off.

Thank you for your input Leo!