Omnipod on the way!

I got the call from Insulet today. My insurance has approved the pod and my first shipment is on the way to my CDE… I’m very excited and a little nervous. I used the try-out pod and had little trouble. I had placed it on my lower back, and it was super comfortable. I wore it for 2 days, and in the middle of the night, I had forgotten it was on. I pulled my pants up in the restroom and ripped it off in the process. Whoops.

Anyway, I’m not worried at all about the comfort of it. But I am a little scared about the negative comments I have heard. I’ve never used a pump before-- I’ve been on shots for a long time. I wonder if I’m doing the right thing by starting it. But I can always go back to shots if I need to!

Cindy,

I have been on shots for 36 going on 37 years and am shopping for pump…I have made my mind up and am meeting with CDE Tuesday…what do you think of it so far…oops! I guess I should mention I went to a vendor fair and received demo of omni pod and I am impressed…

Cindy W.

Don’t let the negative comments rain on your parade, Cindy. I’m new to pumping also and the OmniPod was not only the first pump I felt comfortable looking at, it has re-invigorated my interest in my diabetes care; it has actually excited me.
I do sympathize with people who have difficulties with it, but I also know that there are thousands of users and most of them don’t post comments about how OmniPod just works and enables them to get on with life. I think the people with problems are going to be more vocal by nature of the fact that they are having problems.
So I encourage you to keep your enthusiasm and see how it works for you; I firmly believe that one’s mental state has a big impact on one’s level of control. And don’t hesitate to ask questions here or on other forums and mailing lists.
Oh, and don’t hesitate to use Insulet’s customer service phone number - they seem to always have a live person answer the phone 24/7.
Eric