Planning to try an arm site!

I've been wearing a Dexcom for about 4 months and only ever tried it in the upper buttock/lower back/love handle area. I'm thinking about trying it in my upper arm when I replace the sensor tomorrow. Any good advice? I've watched every video I can find about it on YouTube. I'm a little nervous because I have pretty skinny arms. :(

Does anyone know if the calibration must be exactly every 12 hours, or once you've attach it do you have to check your glucose levels exactly 2 hours later? My daughter just got her Dexcom, but hasn't used it because of this concern. She is afraid that she will be driving and will have to pull over to check her GL or she is in class attending to lectures. Thank you!

It will alert you when it’s ready for a calibration but it won’t stop working (in the case of the every-12-hour calibrations) if you don’t do it immediately. As for the start up two hour calibration, you’ll get an alert that it’s time to calibrate and you won’t see any readings on the device until you do, but otherwise there is no reason she couldn’t wait until a more convenient time for her to use her meter.

Why are you replacing the sensor ? If it's accurate and comfortable I normally leave it in until it dies or starts to get inaccurate. When the receiver says "change sensor now" I just hit stop sensor and start sensor but do not change it out. It will go through the 2 hour calibration step and then you're good to go.
If you've watched Diabetic Danica do the arm insertion I think hers is the best for technique. www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPaAv4r0ijY
This one is great to give you the courage. I figure if this 3 year can handle it so can I. www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z5x4M9kg
Dexcom will replace any sensor that does not last for 7 days. So if you put it on your arm and just can't stand the feeling of it there pull it off and try somewhere else.