Pump failure

I had heard that pump failure was pretty rare, but I’ve been pumping for less than six months and this happened to me this morning! The pump would not stop alarming and the entire keypad died, so I am getting a new pump sent. It won’t arrive until tomorrow, though, and in the meantime I am doing Humalog injections every 2-3 hours. This will get annoying during the night, to say the least!

So, how common is this? How many here have actually had a pump completely die on them and require a new one to be sent? I am hoping it won’t happen again. I’m just glad it happened right now during the part of the summer I’m at home relaxing and not while I’m at work or travelling, where it would have been even more stressful than it already was this morning!

Hi Jennifer. I got my first MM715 pump in February 2005. Almost exactly a year later it croaked with an “A33” error (pressure sensor went out). So, Minimed sent me another in February 2006. I moved to Germany in the summer and then in January… tada… less than a year with my 2nd pump… croak. Another “A33” error, won’t prime, had to be replaced. (Which took over a week since the warranty is in the US and I’m in Europe. Can’t you get an emergency Lantus or Levemir prescription so you don’t have to jab yourself every 2 hours? Or was it just on the weekend so no? I had to do that for 2 days because I couldn’t a prescription on the weekend either. That was horrid.)

So, I’m on my THIRD MM715 in less than 3 years. I wrote in to a pumpers forum and everyone acted like this was so rare. So I can’t tell you how common it is, just that I got two lemons (please, please, not three!) in a row! Hope you didn’t. What type of pump do you have?