Running out of real estate!

Guess I’ve been pumping for about 10-12 years now and though I rotate locations religiously I am finally starting to run into a lot of site problems. Swelling at the site, bad absorption, painful insertions, bent cannulas.

But there are only so many places you can stick an inset–aren’t there??? For me using a tethered pump has restricted me to belly, love-handles and upper thighs. I try to spread them around, use one region long enough to give others time to recover as much as possible. But I’m having increasing difficulty finding spots that don’t end up with subcutaneous swelling, inflammation/loss of absorption, bent canulas etc. A recent string of bad sites (changed 4 times in as many days) finally had me on the phone to Tandem clinical support. They’re telling me I have to switch to steel insets and are sending samples, but I’ve tried them before and am not a huge fan. Some have to be changed even more often than standard ones and Medicare won’t pay for that, among other issues.

So meanwhile, I’m reconsidering the options for new “real estate” entirely. Tandem sent me that venerable injection-site map that I’ve had memorized since I was dx’d in 1983 (thanks guys). But a lot of those spots just aren’t practical for tethered pumping, no??? I do see references here and there to tubers using those places but how do you manage the practicalities? How to route the tubing through your clothes, how do you avoid rip-outs from clothing snagging, pain from pressure against seat-backs, etc., not to mention contorting yourself to attach/detach your tubing when showering and whatnot. How do you do it? Overtaping? Spousal assistance??? Would appreciate hearing from anyone who’s using these (to me) unorthodox locations successfully. I need details!

1 Like