Sunbathing & OmniPod

I have been using the OmniPod (OP) since the end of 2008. I am skeptical and can not get a straight answer from OP about how it works during the summer months at the beach or pool. I enjoy sunbathing at the beach and pool but I am concerned that the OP will get too hot and not work. Has anyone else encountered this? What do my fellow sun bathers & OP users do during summer months?

I wasn’t sunbathing exactly, but just enjoying the sunshine over the weekend. Saturday afternoon I sat on our back porch which faces south for several hours doing some knitting. Yesterday I noticed that my bg was much higher than usual and it was not due to my food choices. I suspect that the pod got too warm, but I can’t prove it for sure. I have to change pods this morning so will see what the rest of the day brings. I hope you find your answers as the sunshine sure felt good after a long winter here in northern Illinois.

Mayumi

I too am wondering about sunbathing with the Pod, and am curious as to where people wear it while on a beach vaca? Under a one piece, perhaps? How about a bikini? I’m wondering if covering it with something while soaking up the rays would work? Sorry I don’t have any info Melinda, but I’m hoping someone will fill us in!!

Thanks for not leaving me hanging out there by myself Gina! Glad I’ve got a beachgoer pal!! I am thinking if the sun is beaming on the pod (if the pod is under the swimsuit) then that would warm the insulin. I don’t want to go back to traditional shots during the summer, but I enjoy beaching it so much. I hope someone out there can help us!!

I think your body at 98.6 degrees will have an adverse reaction to the heat of the sun. Even though it will heat your body some, I don’t think it can heat your body past the body’s ability to help keep the insulin cool enough to not go bad.

If your brain begins to fry or you get heat stroke, you’ll probably need to be suspicious of you insulin.