Supplies to carry with you at all times and advice about testing and injecting on the go

I've learned that my diabetic supplies and necessities include glucometer and extra test strips, insulin pen and extra needles (how many), emergency candy/snacks, alcohol wipes. Am I forgetting something? I'm still learning.

It's not always easy to test when I'm on the go. The other day at the supermarket, I wasn't feeling well and could not easily find a flat clean surface to put my glucometer. What has been your experience? What happens when you are walking from one place to another and are in between destinations?

Recently, I was eating out and since I was washing my hands anyway in the restroom, and needed to check my pre meal BG....except this was one of those restaurants where they wanted ambience and the lights were dim everywhere (the main dining room, the restrooms), I was certain that I would not be able to properly see 1.5 on my syringe. I asked the hostess if there were any other place with better lighting that I could use to inject my insulin. The whole restaurant was rather dim. Luckily, she did find a hidden restroom with bright lights, but ah...nowhere to put the glucometer, nor the pen/syringe...etc. I settled for cleaning the sink and lining it with a paper towel. It's not like the youtube videos where the tutorial instructs you to 1. wash your hands 2. have all your supplies on a clean table/area.

I find a pocket size packet of moist towelettes (not sure what you call them where you live) to be a very handy addition to my handbag. You can use them to clean more than just hands.

You might want to add a small LED penlight to your kit. It helps to see what your doing in low light situations. Does your meter have a light? If not does you cell phone?

I use a belt pouch to carry my stuff and have gotten good at balancing things on the top as I test. My meter, strips and poker all fit in a small zip open case so I use that as a table sometimes too.