Sweet Olivia

Hello,
Well when it comes to diabetes, I am a beginner. My daughter was dx on June 12th, 2007. She is two years old and full of spunk! She is Type 1. Being a health and physical eduation teacher, I thought I knew alot about this disease. Boy was I wrong - I learn something new everyday. It is nice to have the support here!

My husband and I had an inkling that something was just not right a couple of days before her dx. She was drinking like there was no tomorrow and she would leak out of a diaper every hour. We made an appointment with her doctor. Her BG level was 428 and she had ketones in her urine. We spent 5 days in the hospital to rehydrate her, etc., and to education me and my husband. Those five days were the hardest. She had no idea what was going on. Why was she being poked? Why were mommy and daddy giving me shots? She would cry. I would cry. I still cry at night - I guess that is the worrying side of me.

Right now the Endocrinologist and his team tells me that our Olivia is in the "Honeymoon" stage. She gets very little insulin right now. I don't know how long that will last and neither do they. She gets 1 and 1/2 units of NPH in the Morning @ Breakfast and she get 1/2 a unit of Lantus @ bedtime and then she follows a sliding scale of Humalog @ Breakfast, Dinner, and Bedtime. Right now she gets no insulin @ Lunch time because all three are working then. I believe tomorrow they will probably change her NPH again because at lunch time her numbers are in the 70's.

I also struggle with eating time. It hasn't been a month yet since her dx, so I'm still learning and it's nice to learn from these forums what other people have done and are going through. I'm contantly on the www.calorieking.com website checking carbs!!