What do you expect from your Diabetes Software

I am a recently diagnosed type I diabetic and a software engineer by profession. When it came to recording your blood sugar values and keeping a maintainable logbook, I started looking for some good Diabetes Management Software. After spending some time on that, I couldn’t find a really easy to use system. So, I decided to write a piece of software tailored to my custom needs. While I was at it, I started wondering what all a diabetes management system should do. I thought, the best way to figure that out is to ask people who have been using these systems for longer than me. So, I would like to ask you guys a few questions. Here they are:

1. What software do you use?
  2. What do you think is missing from the sofware? What more would you want your software to do?
  3. What is the most annoying thing that your software does and how would you like it to be?

I wrote about some of my dreams for software here:

http://ydmv.blogspot.com/2007/08/and-i-would-like-side-order-of-hol…

That and I would really like to see an industry standard data set. Our data needs to be our data. Our pumps, meteres and CGM need to speak one language so we can make heads and tails out of our data so we can make choices for our health. Our toys need to play nice. Fat chance.

I would like to be able to put a flag in that database that says. Oh crap something went wrong don’t use the data around this point in time. Say a set failed, you ran a marathon or an evil giant pizza attacked. You would want to exclude that data set from say those you use to define new basal rates. Seems like a simple idea. Haven’t seen it yet.

1. I have used Carelink (Medtronic Minimed’s software) and now am playing with CoPilot (Abbott’s) as I’m considering getting a Cozmo.
  2. Carelink is nice because it’s web-based and therefore universally accessible, but its features are not as good as CoPilot’s.