5 moves to bring down blood sugars in a pinch

WRITTEN BY: Matt Vande Vegte

FacebookTwitterEmail

We’ve all been there.

You’re stuck at work and your blood sugars are a bit high and won’t budge. You’ve given some extra insulin to bring it down, but it doesn’t seem to be working. Before you go and give yourself that “rage bolus” (giving too many insulin corrections out of frustration, only to come barreling down to a low blood sugar later on) I want you to consider an alternative… Movement .

My name is Matt Vande Vegte and I am a certified personal trainer, nutritionist, diabetic health coach, and a Type 1 diabetic. I’ve made it my mission to educate and coach others in the ways of health and happiness using my knowledge and life experiences.

There are a few different strategies to “activate” your insulin on board, but perhaps the best is to get your body moving. Movement increases your heart rate, which increases the circulation of your blood (and insulin), but which types of exercise are best for this? As anyone who has been through one of my heath coaching programs over at FTF Warrior knows, there are many different types of exercise, and they can all affect your blood sugars differently. While heavy resistance training (building muscle) is the best way to boost insulin sensitivity long term, today we are going to talk about a quick and temporary boost in insulin sensitivity in order to get those stubborn high blood sugars down faster. This quick boost comes from steady state cardio, which essentially means keeping your heart rate elevated for an extended period of time. The longer you keep it elevated, the more significant of a drop you will see (typically).

One note: always make sure to properly hydrate before exercising. Hydration is key and goes hand in hand with movement to get that insulin on board working to lower your blood sugar.

The list