Best way to remove the left-over glue from Tegaderm?

Does anyone know the best way/thing to use to get rid of the extra Tegaderm adhesive? I got the nasty sticky ring around the edge of where the thing used to be and now it has collected dust and other fun things so it just looks ugly. I can’t find anything around the house that seems to get it off. It’s swimsuit season and I gotta get rid of this!!! HELP!!! :slight_smile:

--Rick

PS: This is for covering my sensor site, in case that mattered to anyone :)

I use baby oil on a cotton bud which seems to work for me ( I use flexilink cannulas )

Ditto on the baby oil. I have also used acetone nail polish remover on a swab as well. They h commercially prepared products as well - Detachol, etc.

If baby oil don’t work try an alachole pad to remove excess glue from taping.

ask your pharmacy to order you a bottle of Uni-Solve adhesive remover. the manufacturer id Smith & Nephew. works great!

I ;used to use acetone when I was a nurse. Just be gentle to your skin.

Thanks guys! I gave the acetone a try–OUCH! I think I’m gonna run out and try some baby oil next. If that doesn’t work I’ll try the Uni-Solve. Does anyone else have any other suggestions?

I vote for the Uni-Solve. If you have a “small business” pharmacy like we do here, you can ask for some sample pads to see if you like it before you buy a whole bottle. I was the proud owner of a pump for about a month and bought the huge bottle and then stopped using the pump so I have that GIANT bottle just sitting around the house. I will say it works VERY well though. I think the baby oil would be nicer for your skin though.

they make adhesive removers for this use.

Example: http://www.walgreens.com/store/catalog/Ostomy-Care/Adhesive-Remover-Wipes/ID=prod1701951&navCount=1&navAction=push-product

I used tegaderm for the longest time and battled with the same thing. the tape that comes with my MM infusion sets these days doesn’t leave the same residue.

Rick: