Darn you Sonic!

I stopped at Sonic yesterday and went through my usual routine. I ordered a diet drink and reinforced that I needed all components to be diet. Then when it came to the car, I asked again whether it was diet. She said it was not and brought me another drink. But, after drinking the drink, my blood sugar shot to 300. Clearly it was not diet. I hate to be that lady at Sonic who constantly pesters them about making sure my drink is correct, but I’ve been burned more than once even after asking them to double check. When they get it right, it’s a great treat. But, when they get it wrong, I pay the price.

Sonic is one of the worst about getting drinks right. I always test the drinks with a meter.

1 Like

I used to be a manager at McDonalds. It may help to call and complain in a friendly way. I would always write the customers name down and give them a free drink and side when something like this happened. Might get some free food out of it.

@tiaE, do you just add a drop of the drink to a test strip? What kind of number do you observe with diet and with regular pop? I’ve never done this and now rarely order a soft drink. But it would be great to be able to test when I want a soda and not suffer the extended hyper.

@Terry4 just a quick dip straight into the cup, but only a touch. You’ll get an error or low reading (20-30, or just “low”) for sugar free, depending upon which brand of meter/strip. The Sonic regular limeade reads 300+. I haven’t had a soda in a while but IIRC it reads similarly.

It’s worth the cost of a strip to not be surprised by a high. My husband can taste the difference easily, but my daughter & I have a hard time. I’d rather be sure.