Diabetes social networks

Hi, I’m a graduate student at MIT/Harvard medical and I would like to ask a few questions for a class that I’m taking:

1. What tools do you usually use to monitor your diabetes (glucose, weight, etc)?
  2. Do you keep a daily record of your levels? Why or why not?
  3. How do you share this information with your doctor?
  4. Do you use any diabetes resources online?
  5. Are you a part of any online communities – which ones, how involved are you, what do you think of them?
  6. What would you like to have in a diabetes web site?
  7. How much time do you usually spend managing diabetes (monitoring, exercising, online community, etc)?
  8. How do you remember to take your medicine?
  9. What motivates you to take care of yourself?

Thanks! This will help us create a better way to help you manage diabetes.

Daniel

Hey Daniel,

Wow, sounds like a cool project. I’ll throw in my info:

1.) OneTouch Ultra Meter, NovoNordisk Insulin Pens, http://www.SugarStats.com
2.) Most definitely. Because inputting my daily statistics and then having the ability to see my aggregated trends over time gives me very valuable info to make decisions day to day.
3.) Via SugarStats.com
4.) TuDiabetes.com, SugarStats.com, DiabetesChatFest, various blogs etc
5.) Pretty much all of them and I think they’re all great. Brings more awareness to diabetes in general IMHO
6.) Depends on what I’m looking for. Definitely not a “Everything to everyone All-in-one” solution as they end up being nothing much to anyone. I want to have sites that take a few choice things and execute them well.
7.) 30min-1hr a day? But it is constantly on my mind and reflected in every choice I make.
8.) I remember before I eat and before I go to bed. Also via SugarStats, SMS/Email for restocking meds, doctor appointments and exams etc
9.) Basically I feel better. I notice the differences in my daily life and in general I strive for optimal health and a good quality of life. Cause and effect really.