High Altitude Alarm

Has anyone else run into this alarm on the t:slim?

I received it not after a flight, but rather after a hot day of bike riding. I wear my t:slim against my hip when I ride and I have been doing this for 6 months. But this past weekend after coming home and changing the infusion set and cartridge I received a High Altitude Alarm - All Deliveries stopped.

I called Tandem and they told me that there are 6 tiny holes in the back of the t:slim and in some cases if they get clogged the t:slim thinks you're in a high altitude and stops delivering basal insulin.

The t:slim said to remove the cartridge and put it back in. I did that a few times and it seemed to fix itself.

Am I the only one who sometimes wears the t:slim again the skin?

Thanks!

1 Like

I do all the time but because of the vents I always place it with vent holes away from body. You can help decrease the sweat build up on the screen by placing it in a baby sock if you are having direct skin contact.
But the pump is water resistant so the sweaty scene will not cause issues. I wear mine in a talleytote all the time, so is held close to body. Can get totally soaked with day hiking in the mountains during the summer.

Tandem also recommended the baby sock solution - but that kinda defeats the "slim" aspect of the design, which was a buying point for me. They also did not recommend the screen facing the skin, but that is only because they don't want you to accidently dose. But I think that would be very difficult to accomplish with the locks and confirmation screen necessary to bolus.

You are right though, if the device is water resistant then sweat should be no problem either. Thanks!

What's a talleytote? Can you give a link to the product? Thanks.

http://www.tallygear.com/index.php?route=product/category&path=62