How fast does your lancing device wear out?

I was wondering how fast lancing devices wear out on average. I’ve been using the Microlet 2 for about 4 years, but I have to replace it every 6 - 12 months, because the spring wears out. Is this normal? What are your experiences with other lancing devices?
Before I started using the Medtronic pump and the Contour meter, I used the EasyTouch device from Abbott for a couple of months, but not long enough to discover how fast it wears out.
By the way, in my opinion Abbott’s FreeStyle lancets have a really good design. For safe disposal you can click the lancet cap on the lancet and it won’t come off. That’s great when you are not at home and don’t have access to a needle container. Microlet lancets don’t have this feature, caps almost immediately fall of after putting them on the lancets. Which sometimes results in prick accidents.

I’ve been using the same one for about 5 years. I got it back in the day when my insurance company had a chronic disease management plan and they gave it to me for free. It’s probably bottom of the barrel as cheap as they come, but it hasn’t given up yet. It’s also long and thin, about the size of a pen, so it fits in my D-bag really well (I don’t use the cases the meters come in).

Speaking of, I think I’ll change my lancet today… it’s been a while.

I use a Multiclix that I’ve been using for about eight years now.

2 Likes

The Multiclix and its newer version, the Fastclix, win every vote we’ve ever had here for comfort. I’ve had these lancing devices for years, and have never had one break. Additionally, they use drums for the lancets. each drum has 6 lancets. There is no way to have an accidental poke when changing lancets or drums.

I change my lancet on Mondays.