How many use a Medical Supply company

Hi, I’ve noticed so many people on here have to order through third-party medical suppliers for pump and CGM supplies. Lots of them have problems. I’ve been pumping with Medtronic for 14 years and using the Dexcom CGM for about 5 years. I’ve never had to use a third party company and I’ve have several medical insurance policies in that time. My supplies have always come directly from Medtronic and Dexcom. How can it be cheaper to involve a third party? How common is it to require a third party when the manufacturers are perfectly willing to ship direct?

1 Like

When my dexcom was covered by insurance, I had to go through a medical supply company. I used to get my pump supplies direct but my pump is not the preferred pump by my insurance company so now I have to go through a medical supply company for them too. Seems it all depends on insurance.

1 Like

My insurance has always covered pump and CGMS from DME suppliers only, never directly from Medtronics or Dexcom. I think it reduces the number of suppliers they have to deal with.
There are many non-D related medical supplies, so most insurance would already have arrangements with DME suppliers. So including pumps/dexcom is easier than arranging with companies that would only supply a few products.

My DME supplier may be able to get stock from Dexcom or MM in bulk, and get lower prices.
MM/Dexcom may prefer that because they just ship the product, and don’t have to bother with overhead associated with insurance approvals, doctor correspondence, etc.