It's Been A While

I’ve haven’t spent much time on tudiabetes in recent months. After joining, I was so excited about connecting with people and learning some tips and tricks about diabetes management.

And I did learn a lot. I still carry smarties around with me instead of glucose tablets. But, unfortunately, I think a lot of the lessons didn’t stick with me.

I’m a college freshman now, and diabetes has taken a backburner in my life for the past month that I’ve been here. I still check my sugar before eating 9 out of 10 meals (but not all of them) and I have a fridge full of insulin and apple juice.

But at least once a day (on good days), my blood sugar sky rockets up to 300+. It’s gotten to the point where I just don’t care anymore. I have a headache, I’m cranky and soooo thirsy, but I just shrug my shoulders and take another bolus out of my insulin pump.

This is not good.

So I decided that I would take things one day at a time, and see how many days I could go without having a single high blood sugar (which I defined as over 250. I’ve got to start somewhere). So, since I threw down the gauntlet, I have gone a total of zero days without highs.

Wow.

I guess I need to be more proactive. I should probably see a doctor too, but I didn’t like my last endocrinology, he almost made me cry. And now that I’m living 6 hours away from home, without a car or any idea where the endocrinologists are in this area (I’m not totally ignorant though, I do know where I can find the hospital & urgent care, plus I’ve talked to the school nurse)