Made the call

I've been agonizing for a couple of months over whether I want to go for an insulin pump. Well today I made the call to my endo's office to get the process started. After mulling the idea over for what seems like forever it was a reply that Acidrock made to another member that finally pushed me to make a decision. He said "It's better to regret something you have done than something you haven't!". I knew then that if I didn't at least try then I would always regret it. Thanks AR for that bit of wisdom.

Now folks get ready. Assuming that my insurance approves it, and I think they will, there are going to be questions, maybe a lot of question. I'm going to apologize in advance in case I become a nuisance.

Here's my first question. What do I need to do to prepare myself?

Gary

LOL, I was quoting the Butthole Surfers!!

If you already know about counting carbs and all that stuff, you should be fine. I'd suggest being open-minded about using the pump data "harvester" to get info and, if you can get it close, keep working to get it closer? I've been amazed to see how very small, like .025U/hour, variations will make a perceptable difference in my overall BG picture. Maybe read "Think Like a Pancreas" or "Your Diabetes Science Experiment" as they are the most fun books I've read about messing around with doses and setting goals.

Hi Gary and congrats ahead of time! Don't hesitate to ask questions, we've all been there! What I would do to get ready is get the book Pumping Insulin by John Walsh. It's a bible for the pump the way Using Insulin is for insulin in general! Then do your homework and decide which pump you want. They all have different features and it's really a matter of seeing which is right for you. Once you make your choice then hook up with a trainer and access their manual online so you can skim it a bit before you get the pump. It's definitely a learning curve, but well worth it. Like many people, I'd never go back!