Marrying Someone with Type 1 Diabetes

Hi, I'm new to TuDiabetes but could really use some support and decided to join because I liked the community I saw here.

My fiance is a Type 1 diabetic. He was diagnosed at the age of 31. At the time of his diagnosis, we'd been together for 9 months and were already very much in love. His diagnosis changed nothing about my feelings for him- in fact, seeing him be so strong in the face of his diagnosis made me love him more. And a little over a year later, we got engaged!

So that's the good news. The bad news is that my family -in particular my parents- have not been supportive of my relationship ever since my fiance was diagnosed with T1. They think I'm foolish for staying in a relationship with him (let alone marrying him). They also think that he was lying to me from the beginning about his health because they still think that T1 can only happen to children and not adults. Because I've chosen to marry my fiance, my parents have decided that they want nothing to do with me. We haven't really spoken in over 6months- when I called them to tell them I was engaged my mother asked me why I insisted on telling people things they didn't want to hear...

Has anyone else out there experienced anything like this? Does anyone have advice/words of support? Could really use some support from people who have been there. It's hard for me to talk to my fiance about this because I don't want him to feel guilty about something that is not his fault.

-Vienna

Wow, that is pretty horrible. What exactly is their concern? That it will get passed on to future children? That he will die young?