My Stubborn T2, My Valentine

I admit that I am new to this, and by this I mean both Diabetes AND Healthy relationships,

But this man is driving me bonkers....

To swoon in & of itself is a completely alien experience for me. His affect is so profound w/in my head, I do at times feel dizzy, though. My ability to breathe at the very thought of him is what I imagine l inhaling the purest form of oxygen at the top of the most beautiful mountain is like...

Positively exhilerating.....

SO WHY DOES HE FRUSTRATE ME SO WITH HIS ABSOLUTE REFUSAL TO TEST HIS BLOOD GLUCOSE?

Having spent a great deal of my life in Patient care in several different capacities, I am sympathetic to the needle phobia as much as I am to the rebellion towards

(Let me see if I can get the verbiage just right here)

"Taking time out of the day to do something that tells me something I already know and am doing something about even though it may or may not be the right something about it"

He really hates those needles, but the more I educate myself on this disease in a concentrated & specific manner, the more afraid I get,..

and by afraid I mean of both Diabetes AND this relationship.

I s'pose I should not complain so very loudly...

He is an avid Mountain Biking Crazy man, In the gym 5 days a week, and a health nut.

The problem with loving a man such as this is that he has all these things to fall back on when I bring to his attention that his "Old people lose their eyesight" (He has 10 years on me) reasoning doesn't fly with the fact that sometimes it clears up suddenly...and at really odd moments too -

Ha! Like the day he realized his truck really was THAT dirty!

Or the fact that A1c is an average that tells you almost nothing if you only get a Physical once every other nagging girlfriend, sister, mother....

I think his last one may have been three years ago...

Conclusion? Don't have one yet - except this....

I really do love love love this man and I guess this is part of it.