New Here

I have a unique kind of Diabetes. I was diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis at birth. I underwent a bilateral lung transplant in 2001. My Diabetes progressively got worse after the transplant. We aren’t sure if I have Cystic Fibrosis Related Diabetes, or Transplant Related Diabetes. Regardless, I am now insulin dependent. I have struggled for the past several years with glucose control. I am very insulin sensitive and finally had it. I am getting a pump! And, a Dexcom! I have my pretty little pink Ping ready to go and will receive my Dexcom today! I will get started on both next week. I am excited to gain more control over this beast, as I have lots of other ongoing health problems. I just wanted to introduce myself. I have been lurking/reading for a while now, and I chose my Ping and Dexcom based on some wonderful reviews here. So, thanks!

Hello Heidi,
Good to see you’ve ordered your Ping and Dexcom. I’ve been using pumps for not quite 16 years now, and just got my new Ping a week ago Wednesday. Definitely a good pump especially when you get used to all the details.
Of course I found it a bit simpler since my old 1250 pump is largely the same as the Ping, except for the glucose meter/remote.
Being insulin sensitive is among the better reasons to get a pump, I’m sure. Being able to dose in such small increments makes control a LOT easier to achieve.

Thanks Dave! It was like Christmas when I opened my pretty pink Ping! LOL. I can’t wait to get the Dexcom. The pump put me at my out-of-pocket max, so the Decom and 3 months of sensors was FREE! Well, of course I had to spend a fortune to reach my out-of-pocket, but it made the decision to get it even easier! I will report back next week on my first few days of experience with it. I’m sure i’ll have a ton of questions for all of you experts!