New to Animas Pump

Hello I am new to the animas family, I am currently working on getting my pump and just want to find as much info as possible about them. I am working on getting the vibe without the CHM because it does cost a lot of money and it is money I don’t have. Just wondering what people who have the vibe like and don’t like about it. What infusion sets do you use? What works and what doesn’t. I am either going with the inset 30 or the soft compact. For those who use either one just wondering what they think of them and the pro and cons. :slight_smile: thank you for any input. Shannon

The Vibe without the CGM is called a Ping. I have had a Ping for 4 years and am in the process of getting another one as I'm not interested in a CGM either. I use the metal sets (Contact Detach). I tried all the plastic sets and found I regularly had problems with kinked canulas. With the metal sets that problem is gone and if I hit an area that is uncomfortable for some reason I just move it and tape it down elsewhere which isn't possible with the plastic sets. I thought it would be hard to put in the manual metal sets but it's very easy. I love my Ping and especially love the meter/remote (which the Vibe does not have, by the way).

I’m a Ping user contemplating going to the Vibe. I have been using Dexcom G4 CGM for the past 8 months and I love it. I have lowered my A1C by 1.2 points since using th CGM. The Ping has been great and Animas has been very respnsive. The downside of the Vibe is that you must look at the pump to see your BG reading instead of the Separate receiver. You are a winner whatever you decide.

Soon smartphone apps will also be deployed to help too.