Share your awkward and/or hilarious 'Betes moments here!

I’ve certainly had several. But my favorite occurred about 7 years ago, when I was an undergrad in college and my 'betes outed itself in a very memorable way.

I was still on shots at that point, and working as a cashier in a local health food store. We had a new employee there, who had moved to CO from the east coast to “get away from some bad influences”, as he put it. He was sort of a sketchy guy in general, and was also a little overly friendly with myself and all of my female coworkers. A few weeks after he started working there, I was buying lunch and went through his register. I pulled my wallet out of my purse to pay, and all of a sudden he shot me a really weird look and said “looks like you dropped something there” and pointed underneath the check writing platform on his register - I peered underneath and saw that a used, capped insulin syringe had flown out of my purse when I pulled out my wallet. I, of course, was caught off guard and just stammered “You DO know I’m diabetic, right?” as I retrieved the syringe. He just gave me a withering look, and said “Ok, whatever you say”. He totally didn’t believe me! Like I looked like an IV drug user, especially with the freshman 15 20 I was carrying around. I was thoroughly embarrassed, but he stopped hitting on me after that and quit soon after - so in the end it was a very good thing. I still laugh about it to this day.