Started new Pump

I started my new t:slim 2 days ago, and boy is it different than minimed. I noticed a lot of people are switching, and I was just curious if you did, Why? I just needed a break from medtronic, and because of my insurance, I would just go back to the 723, (same pump I’ve been using for 5 years) I am just curious.

A buddy of mine (@Phyl!) arranged a meeting with the local TSlim rep and I agree it’s a neat product. I am so used to Medtronic (523 plus Enlites…) that I stuck with it. I don’t need a break from it, as long as it works and it has for me. I like the “gas pedal” sense I get out of scrolling up the carbs and BG numbers!

I also use the 723 and have not quite another year a quarter on my warranty. I don’t see myself reconsidering before that happens. When it is time to start looking around again in the first quarter of 2017, my current plan is to see what arrangements Dexcom has in place with other pump manufacturers at that time.

Currently, I also don’t see much point to changing from my 723 + Enlite CGM. Sure, some things might be better using the Dexcom, but, in my opinion, other things, not so much. So I don’t feel a net pull in another direction. But we’ll see what Dexcom has on the market in another year and maybe then I’ll change my mind. :pray:

I know a part of me would really like to have a reason to switch mostly because I find Medtronic’s apparent continued lack of innovation of their CGM system, well, stupid. It’s the type of corporate stupidity I expect from big companies who have their underwear wrapped around their heads, but it’s still stupidity. :angry:

I’d love to have an opportunity to give Medtronic as much of a “dope slap” as my my very small effect on their net revenue may have so long as it also fits with my perceived wants/needs. :grin: But right now while I think some of the features of the Tandem pumps are interesting, I don’t see anything which I also find compelling. Oh, well.