The Diabetic "Stuff" for pedaling across the USA

This post originally appeared on my blog, TwoTravelingTrikes.com. It is a companion piece to my wife Lucia’s story and motivation to do this trip. Again, apologies for any formatting errors (i’m really new to this!)

Once again, here’s the #1 FAQ and Mike’s response to it …

"Why do you want to ride across the USA?"

Like Lucia said, "One question with so many answers." Unlike Lucia, I will be a smart-aleck and say, "It's complicated ..."

But, here's the short answer for those of you Type A personalities:

Because I can!

The whole “because I can” concept for me is an offshoot of the “tape measure of life” concept, which might be where the “Do it Now!” concept came from, but it’s probably older than that too.

Here’s the refresher - Take a tape measure, no not mentally, actually take a tape measure and pull out the tape to 85 inches (if you are on the metric system, pull it out to 85 cm). Now, put your finger on your current age, then take a look at the distance from the beginning of the tape to your finger, and then the distance from your finger to 85 whatevers. Now reflect and come back here when you’re done …

[caption id=“attachment_421” align=“aligncenter” width=“300”] 85 on the tape[/caption]

… okay, you’re back!?! Wow, that was shorter than I thought it would be, but now that you’re done reflecting, let’s get back to me. I’m now 62, here’s how the tape measure thing looks for me:

[caption id=“attachment_420” align=“aligncenter” width=“300”] 62 on the tape[/caption]

[caption id=“attachment_422” align=“alignright” width=“201”] What’s left[/caption]