New pumper

Ok so I should have my pump tomorrow. I am getting the minimed 723. What should I know,or ask? What infusion set are you using and why? Any input will help.

Hello Neighbor!? I live in Ames :)

Congrats on having the pump. Regarding your questions, for me I had a session with a diabetic educator who helped me in choosing what is best for me. Do you have an appointment or something for starting the pump?

Infusion set, I use Quick-Set 9mm, the reason is that it have the quick inserter which makes installing it a breeze!

If you by chance in Ames, lets hang out!

I guess I should add I don’t get to start using it till the end of march. My counselor has recomended the quick set and I also got the cgm as it was free because of insurance. I have been mid for 11 years and can not wait to start the pump. Any Info or advice is welcome.

Hi! I personally have the Animas One Touch Ping. I started mine on Valentines Day. So I am fairly new to the pump. One of my biggest struggle is that I have gotten my tubes stuck and all of the sudden it has pulled my inset out. Before they put you in the pump, I was told that everyone has to go and speak to a pump educator. They will give you a lot of information. I hope this helped, at least just a little bit. You always have a friend here! :)

Erik, Congrats on joining the pumpers. It is certainly the way to go. Hopefully you will receive some decent training and are used to monitoring your numbers so that you and your endo can determine all of the correct basal rates and bolus ratio.
I have been pumping since 97 and I’ve always used an infusion set similar to the silhouette. I like it because the needle goes in at an angle and then gets pulled out leaving only a small flexible cath. I usually put my infusion into my thigh. It stays hidden when shirtless and doesn’t get in the way during everyday activities.
Good luck.